Jones County Sheriff's Office Jones County Sheriff's Office Jones County Sheriff's Office
Mobile Site
Home History of the Sheriff's Office Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts
Inmate Roster
Public Relations
Victim's Advocate
Crime Tip HOTline 601-428-STOP (7867) or submit via email

(601) 425-3147
(24 hours)


P.O. Box 185
Laurel, MS 39441

419 Yates Street
Laurel, MS 39440

Administrative Office Hours:  M-F 8am - 5pm

Major Randy Johnson


Major Randy Johnson serves as Administrator over The Jones County Adult Detention Center and The Juvenile Detention Center.  Both Detention Centers are located at 5178 Highway 11 North in Ellisville, Mississippi.  All officers of the Detention Center are required to complete a minimum of 120 Hours of certified correctional officer training through a state certified instructor. The officers learn self defense tactics, and ASP baton techniques, which are above the required curriculum for completion of the course.   All officers are CPR Certified, First Aid Certified, and OC Spray Certified. 

An LPN is on staff from 8:00 am to 5:00 Monday – Friday.  She is on call after hours and on weekends for all medical needs.   In the event an inmate is on any medication, the medication, in its original bottle, must be brought in by the inmate or a family member.  There will be no exceptions for medications which are out of date or out of the original bottle.

The Jones County Adult Detention Center houses both male and female inmates with misdemeanor or felony charges.  The Detention Center houses for all of Jones County and any other agency, if space is available.  Church services are available should an inmate choose to attend.   Drug, alcohol, and anger management counselors are available to all inmates.  The Detention Center uses working inmates to cook, clean, and maintain the yard work, detail the cars for the road deputies, work in the garden and work on the road crew picking up trash.

All incoming mail is given to inmates Monday- Friday and is inspected for contraband.  All mail must have first and last name on the return address and a complete address. NO PACKAGES WILL BE ACCEPTED!  Money orders are the only form of money accepted for inmates and can be brought to the front window or be mailed to the Detention Center to be placed on an inmate's commissary account.  The inmates may purchase Items from an approved commissary list, such as underwear, socks, food items, etc.   Personal hygiene items may be bought from the commissary but cannot be brought to an inmate.  No personal items are accepted through the window.  Family members may purchase minutes for an inmates’ pay phone, which is in their cell, by calling Evercom at 1- 800-844-6591.  Visitation is on Saturday and Sunday between the hours of 9:00 am and 8:45 pm. Visitation times are assigned by cell blocks.  The visitor’s name must be placed on a visitation list for that inmate and the visitor must provide a valid picture ID.  No cell phones, no cameras and no purses are allowed when visiting an inmate.   No children under the age of 12 will be allowed to visit.  The visitation list may be changed by an inmate once a month.

The Jones County Adult Detention Center now has a full time transport deputy which transports prisoners to and from the doctor, court or to other agencies.

You may contact the Detention Center @ (601) 649-7502 or e-mail Major Johnson or Sergeant Toria Crosby at the links below:


Captain David Hare

Brenda Evans
Juvenile Detention Center 

Steven Beaty  Juvenile Detention Center   

Sergeant Toria Crosby Case Manager

Sergeant Jackie Hayes Adult Detention Center

Sergeant David Luna Adult Detention Center  

 Officer Mike Godwin Transport


Officer Leonard Kelly Adult Detention Center

Officer Charles Hernandez, Road/Garden Crew

  Officer Roderick Harris Adult Detention Center

 Officer Nancy Roberts Central Control

Carol Johnston, LPN
Sergeant Danny Herrington, Juvenile Detention Center



Sergeant James Patrick Juvenile Detention Center

Officer Pam Jones Juvenile Detention Center

Officer Tanya Williamson Juvenile Detention Center

 Officer Lyle Windham Juvenile Detention Center

Officer Sarah Pierce Juvenile Detention Center

Officer Pam Adkins County Road Crew

Officer Michael Graves County Road Crew

 Alberta Davis
Kitchen Manager

Teresa May
Kitchen Manager

 Angela Guthrie Administrative Assistant  




Officer Dequan Allen Adult Detention Center

Officer Coretta Watson
Juvenile Detention Center

Officer Jerry Newsome
Adult Detention Center

Officer Artis Ezell
Adult Detention Center

Officer Jack Eubanks
Adult Detention Center
Officer Lucille Howard
Adult Detention Center


Press Releases
     Notice of Federal Funding and Federal Disclaimer
     Jones County Sheriff's Office | © 2014
     Jones County, Mississippi